And the Liebster Award Goes To…

Everyone! This is not to say that I don’t appreciate the nomination, or that I don’t rate the award. It’s based on a lovely premise – that new bloggers are welcomed to the internet with an award that encourages them to keep blogging and that works like chain mail, spreading through the blogging community like Spring flu, or like something nicer – like melted mozzarella across a tomatoed pizza base (mm I’m hungry…so hungry).

So thank you, Vivienne Frist, so much for your nomination! If you haven’t already found ‘Life Vivified’, you should definitely check it out. Vivienne is an inspirational lady with a lot to say (meaning a lot to rant about) and she’s a model of strong independent womanhood (leading the way in standing up to HR and flying in the face of office politics). She won’t tell us her official job (ooh how mysterious) so I’m going to describe her as a spy who covers up her exciting life of car chases and raunchy encounters with a slightly less exciting office job.

Liebster award, 1 Life LaughingSo now what? Now, I answer questions as voiced by my lovely nominator:

 

1. How did you get into blogging?

Well, it started as something I felt I had to do, as someone who was studying creative writing and who wanted to write for a living. I was terrified about throwing my thoughts into the void (who cares what some random student in her pjs at 12pm thinks anyway?) But so many positive responses and a few experimental posts later and I can’t live without my baby. I love ranting and being an idiot on the internet, it’s the perfect excuse to take stupid photos and gossip about strangers.

2. If you could have one superpower (real or imagined) what would it be?

This question blew my mind. Superpowers can be real?! That’s what I should be blogging about, not some award that can’t make me fly! But in all seriousness (if you can be serious about such a question), I would say it’s an agonising choice between sheer fun and practicality. I should say, because I’m always late (if a train somewhere breaks down, I’m definitely on it, every time), that I would go for teleporting (or apparating for non-muggles). I could pop to Berlin for a night out every Saturday, I could visit my uncle in New Zealand at the weekend and save ohsomuch money. But on the other hand, being able to fly would be so badass… And it looks so much fun…

3. What are your long term goals in life?

This is a deep one, I feel like my mum has tricked me into another Sunday lunch grilling, or like I’ve been caught out in a job interview. The most honest answer to that question is ‘I don’t know’, but the list of musts are: writing, always writing, happiness, winter boyfriends, summer boyfriends, definitely a dog at some point, and one day I would love to own my own barista machine and Jacuzzi. I’m not sure I’ve answered your question…

4. If you could live within the setting of one television show or movie, what would it be and why?

This is a fab question! I’ve had so many dreams about living with Joey and Chandler in Friends – it would be the BEST life (I have grand plans for Fireball, integrated into Dodgeball… What could possibly go wrong?)

5. Same question, but pertaining to the setting of a story or book?

This is so tricky, there are so many greats – Lord of the Rings, The Northern Lights, Game of Thrones, Fifty Shades of Grey… But I think the winner has to be Harry Potter. I’ll say the second book, The Chamber of Secrets, before everyone starts dying… Give me an owl, a wand and a broomstick and I’ll never be sad again (maybe that list should be my answer to the long term goals question…?)

6. Which of all your own blog posts is your favourite?

Ooh that’s a tricky one. It would have to be one of my ridiculous ones for sure and I think I would have to choose, purely for the fact that my friends quoted segments at me in hysterics, ’15 Awkward Things That Only Happen If You’re British’.

7. How did you come up with the name for your blog?

I wanted something lighthearted that summed up what I’m all about. And to me the most important thing is laughing, so that’s what I should aim to get other people doing, right? And when ‘laughing life’ was already take , I went for ‘1 Life Laughing’. I’m kinda glad it worked out that way, the ‘1’ gives it all a sense of urgency (QUICK, LAUGH, NOW, BEFORE IT’S TOO LATE AND YOU’RE DEAD!)

8. If you were going to own an exotic pet (in theory only – we know wild animals do not make good pets) what would it be and why?

NOT A SNAKE AND NOT A SPIDER. Absolutely NOT one of those. I would rather risk a crazed rabid puma. I think I would go for a Capuchin monkey (we all know I got that from Friends too… I know Ross Geller and co aren’t real I promise). They just have such cute little faces and so much sass.

9. If you could spend the day with one person (real or fictional) who would it be?

Christian Grey. I joke I joke (he’s so tame). I would have to go for Xena Warrior Princess. There’s never a dull day. Ever. And there’s the possibility of meeting Hercules for a steamy love affair…

Liebster award, Xena, 1 Life Laughing

Oh yeah, and she’s sassy as. Back off bitch, I’m holding a burning stick and there’s a sword on my back. Try it. I dare you.

10. If you won the lottery today, what would you do tomorrow?

My answer to this question used to be ‘pay off my parents mortgage’ (nawwww) but that’s now been done. So I guess I would buy myself a house, book a flight to Fiji and work my way around the world until I was ready to come back, buy a puppy and settle down somewhere nice. Oh and any left over would go to charity of course… (Jeez why can’t people just be selfish anymore?!)

11. What makes you happiest in this world?

Another very deep question! (You guys are gonna be sick of how well you know me after all this…) I guess the truthful answer is: people. Meeting new ones, meeting up with old ones, nurturing meaningful relationships and starting new ones – getting horribly smashed and being carried home by one – these are the things I’ll remember when I’m old and losing it, and it’s people who will keep me going when I ever feel like giving up.

 

So that’s my life story in a rather large nutshell (think coconut rather than acorn – and yes I know, nerds, a coconut is actually a seed, but I’m going for simple lighthearted wordplay here, so give me a break…)

I usually don’t go on about myself for quite this long, so here’s some praise for other bloggers out there, who I am nominating for their own Liebsters:

Emma Jennings, an incredible poet, fantastic at ranting, and even good at football, we hear, she’s a hugely talented writer with a beautiful blog and a lively spirit. Check her out, she’ll change your mind about a few things with her smarty arty words.

Dear Damsels is a brand new shiny squeaky blog that has already attracted a lot of attention. It’s a female writing platform, accepting admissions from ladies all over the globe from all walks of life. If you want to write and you’re a talented female writer, get involved – editors and publishers follow this blog, so you never know, you could just be spotted…

12 Inch and Single is another great new appearance on the blogging scene, and, sorry folks, it’s not as dirty as it sounds. If you’re into your old school hits, this is the best place to find reviews and the latest on all things music.

Lewis Chandler is the next prize winner, for his philosophical ramblings on The Meditation Diary. Follow his spiritual journey and realise your own inner wonderings with a man that is still figuring it all out himself, who gets wiser with every post.

Raw Streets – I can scroll through this blog for hours. Max is an amateur photographer whose images are anything but amateur. He always finds the perfect people to capture, love it.

The Campus Idiot is a blog after my own heart. It’s a very recent discovery of mine and I’ve fallen a little in love with it – if you want passionate rants, backed up with linked research (you can tell she’s a University student) AND packed with sassy one-liners, terrific puns and a lot of laughs, she’s your girl. LOVE.

Congrats guys, you’re all amazing bloggers and this girl’s impressed. Treat yourself to a glass of bubbly and a Dairy Milk. And now you’re in for a treat…

It’s your turn to be grilled, and your turn to nominate over five bloggers, all of whom should have fewer than 200 followers, for the Liebster (it’s like the film, Paying It Forward, if that helps motivate you…) Pass it on folks. Here are my 11 questions for you lovely people (I know, ELEVEN. You’re thinking, is this an award, or a punishment…?) Answer them and ask your own!:

1. Start with a bang: What’s your favourite thing about your life? (I know, huge question, answer in as much or as little detail as you like).
2. Why are you blogging?
3. If you could change one thing about the world, what would it be?
4. What is your biggest fear?
5. How do you like your eggs?
6. Who is the most inspirational person in your life?
7. What inspires your blog posts?
8. If you were a blog, what would your posts be about?
9. What’s your favourite blog post and why? (Yes, I stole this one. It’s a good question…)
10. What’s the scariest thing you’ve ever done/biggest risk you’ve ever taken?
11. And the big finish, the most important question of all: in your opinion (Googling is cheating) is a Jaffa Cake a biscuit, or a cake?

If you’ve made it this far, bravo, thanks for reading, and I promise my next post will be significantly shorter… (She says…) Or at least full of pretty pictures.

In honour of the Liebster, go out on the WordPress town and discover some new awesome bloggers for yourself – there are so many great voices out there in the big wide world web. Go and make some new friends!

 

 

Feature photo credit: Ed Gregory

10 thoughts on “And the Liebster Award Goes To…

Leave a Reply

